Angelology Danielle Trussoni

Angelology: In Production

It was only through fortuitous circumstance that I happened to pick up Angelology by Danielle Trussoni at FullyBooked. I scanned the prologue, proceeded to the cash register without blinking and made my way home because I couldn’t wait to curl up in a corner with my new book.

Angelology brought me back alive. I thought I’d never find another treasured literary piece as much as I treasured my Anne Rice eroticas, my A Song of Ice and Fire volumes, and my limited edition Paradise Lost. And then came Angelology, one of the most riveting tales I’ve read to date.

Here’s an excerpt to give you a taste…

Devil’s Throat Cavern, Rhodope Mountains, Bulgaria

Winter 1943

The angelologists examined the body. It was intact, without decay, the skin as smooth
and as white as parchment. The lifeless aquamarine eyes gazed heavenward. Pale
curls fell against a high forehead and sculptural shoulders, forming a halo of golden
hair. Even the robes—the cloth woven of a white shimmering metallic material that
none of them could identify exactly—remained pristine, as if the creature had died in
a hospital room in Paris and not a cavern deep below the earth.
It should not have surprised them to find the angel in that preserved condition. The
fingernails, nacreous as the inside of an oyster shell; the long smooth navel-less
stomach; the eerie translucency of the skin—everything about the creature was as they
knew it would be, even the positioning of the wings was correct. And yet it was too
lovely, too vital for something they had studied only in airless libraries, prints of
quattrocento paintings spread before them like road maps. All their professional lives
they had waited to see it. Although not one of them would have admitted so, they
secretly suspected to find a monstrous corpse, all bones and fiber shreds, like
something unearthed from an archaeological dig. Instead there was this: a delicate
tapering hand, an aquiline nose, pink lips pressed in a frozen kiss. The angelologists
hovered above the body, gazing down in anticipation, as if they expected the creature
to blink its eyes and wake.

Recently, I heard they’re doing a movie for Angelology, the rights exclusively acquired by Sony Pictures Entertainment, the media conglomerate that also distributed Spider-Man, Men In Black, and Underworld. Initially, I was excited at the mere thought of ethereal monsters coming to life onscreen, but now I’m not so sure.

Basically, I don’t want them to ruin it. And it’s likely that they will.

Maybe if they helm Christopher Nolan or Darren Aronofsky in the director’s chair then I’ll be a convert. Angelology should be handled delicately, with an approach that’s more of a dark thriller vs an epic adventure film. It should be Rated18 at least, we want to see the angel disections, the bloodbaths, the infected angelic wings, everything!

Even as I doubt their decision to make it into a film, I can’t help but pick celebrities who’d best fit the roles. Here are my choices.

Paul Bettany as Percival Grigori III

Paul Bettany

Because who else? Paul Bettany is perfect because he’s got great acting chops, he can pull off the magnetic and ethereal aura of the powerful Percival. He also has the physicality to pull off intimidating and visceral.

Other options:

Viggo Mortensen

Tom Hiddleston – OMGGGGGGG!

Michael Fassbender – OMG OMG OMG!

Emily Blunt as Evangeline

Emily Blunt

It’s surprising how Emily has gone from sidekick material in The Devil Wears Prada to leading lady material in Edge of Tomorrow. Though the latter wasn’t much, Emily carried much of the acting weight in that film. She’s got the acting ability to pull off both innocent and menacing. She may be a little old, but that’s something a little makeup can fix.

Other options:

Emma Stone

Ellen Page

 

James McAvoy as Verlaine

James McAvoy

Somehow I pictured John Cusack because I always see him as the ridiculous detective in a suit, but he can’t be Verlaine in this movie because it would just be wrong. James McAvoy has certainly upped his playing field in the past few years with his performances in X-Men and Atonement. He’ll certainly fit the description of private investigator turned angelologist turned hunter.

Other options:

Luke Evans – He’s in everything so of course!

 

Marion Cotillard as Gabriella Lévi-Franche Valko

Marion Cotillard

She immediately comes to my mind when I try to think of Gabriella, a strong, beautiful, intelligent woman capable of commanding an entire unit of Angelologists, bring a powerful angel to heel, and still be vulnerable. She’s perfect.

Other options:

Angelina Jolie – WHY NOT?

Jennifer Connelly – She’d have grrreat chemistry with Paul, which is PERFECT!

 

I’m apprehensive about the fact that they’re making Angelology into a movie, proud but apprehensive. They may destroy the plot, destroy the characters of the angels and hunters, and basically destroy the world that Danielle made. I don’t really care for Angelopolis but Angelology is my baby.

They better do it right! 😀

Leave a Reply

