bacon and eggs

Anger is Poison, Who Knew?

I’ve always been the kind of person that feels very deeply. That sounds weird, I know. Let me explain.

When I’m happy, I’m really happy. I’m bubbly. I float on a cloud of rainbows and sunshine and I’m fun to be around with. Right, guys? 😀 When I’m happy, my happiness is infectious. But when I’m angry, I’m a raging bull. I don’t lash out on people or call them names or throw stuff around though, I just keep all that boiling rage inside me. Which is worse. I might get a heart attack or something.

It’s pretty much the same when I’m sad or lonely. I don’t just feel those emotions, I wallow in them and bury myself so deeply that it takes quite a while for me to surface.

It’s not good for me. Or the people I love. 😦

This afternoon, I watched Karen Davila interview Mitch Albom, a famous writer. At one point in the interview, he said (I’m paraphrasing), Don’t hold on to resentment. Anger is a double edged blade. If you stab someone with it, you’ll end up bleeding too. Anger is poison that you inject on yourself hoping that it’ll harm the other person.

In other words, every single time I’ve been angry, I’m hurting myself and the people around me. 😦

I realized that there’s really no point in holding on to anger. Sure, I think it’s perfectly okay for us to get angry. Like what Mitch Albom said, If you put a finger on a burner, you can’t stop yourself from getting burned. So yes, go ahead. Be angry that you’ve been betrayed. Be angry that your country is nuts. Be angry that an adult cut in line in front of you.

The question is, are you going to let that anger consume you? Ruin your day? Ruin your life?

Be angry, but only for like 5 seconds. 😀 Okay, 2 hours tops. And then, breathe. Relax. Face the mirror and smile. It’s okay. Let go of whatever reason you have for being angry. It’s not worth it.

I’m a work in progress when it comes to anger management. It’s like a superpower, I’m still learning to control it. So if you’re like me and often forget that anger is nonsense, write about it. Get a notebook out and just doodle every thing on your mind. Some of what you write won’t make sense because most of it is just impulse and emotion, but it’ll let you wallow and understand that “Hey, life’s not so bad.”

And you’ll move on to rainbows and sunshine. 😀

Leave a Reply

