Behind the Scene: Pageant Rehearsals

So I’ve been going through some photos I retrieved in my hard drive and I found these. I remember I copied them a few months ago but I never got around to sorting through them. Now, I’ll share to you guys some of the photos from our last days of rehearsal for the Miss Southern Leyte 2013 pageant.

Here we go ๐Ÿ˜€

miss southern leyte 2013

We had rehearsals until 11PM-1Am so of course I was tired and sleepy ๐Ÿ˜›

miss southern leyte 2013

That’s my tired face LOL

miss southern leyte 2013

miss southern leyte 2013

miss southern leyte 2013

Practicing our choreography for the production number ๐Ÿ˜€ We had two weeks of rehearsals but Iย stillย forgot a sequence during the actual pageant. LOL doesn’t matter because I won the crown anyway.

miss southern leyte 2013

trying to project and pose despite being sick and exhausted.. HURRAH! ๐Ÿ˜€miss southern leyte 2013

miss southern leyte 2013

There’s always a crowd milling at the gymnasium, eager to take a leisurely survey of the girls vying for the crown. I found it immensely uncomfortable and somehow intimidating. But the crowds during rehearsals areย nothingย compared to the attention aimed at us when we’re out for house calls and appearances. People would be pointing at the girls and saying “Kato oh gwapa” or “Kana xa oh kay taas ug puti ug mestiza kaau”. I was never the girl people would point at, which made me more insecure at that point. They’d scan 19 girls, pinpoint every hair out of place, and they’d rarely notice the girl in the nude Gibi heels. But hey, I’m now the girl wearing the shiny tiara so all’s cool ๐Ÿ˜€

miss southern leyte 2013

miss southern leyte 2013

miss southern leyte 2013

miss southern leyte 2013

miss southern leyte 2013

miss southern leyte 2013

Now let’s see what my makeup artist did to my face two hours before the pageant. ๐Ÿ˜€ He’s a genius.

miss southern leyte 2013

miss southern leyte 2013

miss southern leyte 2013

That’s my finished face LOL ๐Ÿ˜€

I’ve told you, dear readers, over and over again how intimidating and emotionally draining that journey was. But I wouldn’t trade it for anything else. The pageant has helped me recognize my own beauty, strength, and confidence. I may not have Kate Upton’s face or Adriana Lima’s body, but I’m beautiful in my own way too. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

