ST Content team

The Hardest Thing

423081_4503879648512_2013582789_n

This was one of the hardest decisions I’ve ever made. I resigned from Smart Traffic for a number of reasons, but the biggest of which is that I had to start fulfilling my dreams NOW. Otherwise, every single day of my life would be filled with regrets. I had to at least try πŸ˜€

My Reasons

  • I no longer wanted to be a nameless author. Let’s just leave it at that πŸ˜€
  • I grew tired of complacency and consistency, I guess. I wanted to try new challenges and flex my limits.
  • I’m really determined to stick to fashion design. I still have to save up for it and rearrange my priorities, but I’m almost there.
  • I knew it was time to move on. Being in the same career for more than 5 years wasn’t my thing. I admire people who can do that, but that’s not me.
  • I felt like I was being edged out from a “project” I enjoy. I’m sure that’s not what actually happened, but it felt that way. I was thrown into another “project” that, although I sometimes enjoy it, wasn’t really special to me. Β So I got bored, sort of.
  • I was getting old. Seriously, there were days when I was panicking because I’m 23 and I’m still not close to my fashion design obsession. I had to act quickly or I’d end up sacrificing that dream to raise a family.
  • I kept getting sick. My body couldn’t handle the stress of teaching, writing, and learning fashion at the same time. So I was constantly sick, which meant I had to go to the hospital often, which meant I had to spend money AND lose my salary for that day. It was a stupid process that I just couldn’t handle anymore.

Am I happy with my decision?

Yes πŸ˜€ I knew I was doing the right thing. It was a tough decision to make though. I love my Smart Traffic family. I seriously couldn’t ask for a better work environment. The highlight would be the people I met and worked with there. I’ll miss everyone *sob

st-outing-74

What do I miss most?

1. My team. I think it’s a rare occasion when employees don’t hate their managers. But we had leaders who were understanding, friendly, open, and working as hard as we were, perhaps even more. With my previous job, I loathed going to work because the people there didn’t talk AT ALL. We were just random people sitting down in front of laptops and having lunch in awkward silence. With ST, I loved waking up, picking my outfits for Friday, and seeing my teammates. We all motivated, challenged, and cared for each other as workers and friends. It was great πŸ˜€

2. The office. The pantry. The couch area. The lockers. The work desks. Even the ladies’ lavatory. These places were a constant in my life for almost 2 years. It was tough when I realised that I’d no longer be in those hallowed halls.

3. The job. I love writing, it’s been that way since I was a kid. And to have a job that allowed me to flex my skills everyday? Awesome. But then again, content writing was vastly different from the writing that I had in mind. Sure, I could somehow show off what I learned studying Literature. But I had to bend to rules and specs for our projects, which was hard to swallow sometimes… or often πŸ˜€

4. The notion of being part of something bigger. Smart Traffic was probably still a small company to anyone’s standards. It’s no Convergys in terms of size, definitely. But being part of the ST family made me grow up, gain confidence, and learn how to deal with people. Seriously, I was never friendly or confident about what I wear. But because of my stay at ST, I became more outgoing, I learned how to reach out to superiors and strangers, I became more confident with my fashion choices, and I learned about optimism and appreciating the help of others. I essentially became a better person. πŸ˜€

What happened on my last day?

We had our annual Content Team Christmas Party which, as always, is a fun and carefree night. It was also an emotional event for some of us because it was going to be our last. T_T

For every writer that resigns, the team gives a compilation of farewell notes from everyone. I’m documenting everybody’s well wishes here because I cried and cried when I read them. THANKS SO MUCH, YOU GUYS. πŸ˜€

Hi Godece,Β 

Maytag managad paka sa facebook. hahaha kay no reaction man ka or di lang ko kabantay. lol. I will miss you Godz, you’re one of the truest people in the team. Even though we’re not barkadas, I consider you as one of my real friends. I sincerely wish you the best. I’m sure you will do well ug biskan unsa pa na industry imong i-decide to join. Continue lighting up with your radiant glory, energy, beauty, intelligence etc every group you join, every room you enter. Love you! ❀

Soleil

Soler, you’re seriously one of the sweetest people I know. Why are you so sweet and nice, Lei? I’m jealous LOL πŸ˜€ You’re so malambingΒ and caring and gorgeous. More happiness and success, dearest Soler. Luv yah! (p.s. you make me sound like a weird divine alien by saying I have “radiant glory” LOL)

Hi Godece,

Thank you so much for all your help in the team. I’m gonna miss your energy and your commitment to quality. Good luck with whatever you’re gonna do from now on. I’m excited for what the future will bring you. Keep on keeping on! Merry Christmas & Happy New Year in advance.

Continue shining! Dannea

Miss Dann, I already expressed my gratitude to you with my farewell Skype chat. hihi πŸ˜€ All I can say now is how thankful I am that I took that interview and got to work with such an awesome manager. (p.s. the first time I read your “keep on keeping on” I was confused, but now I totally get it πŸ˜€ )

To the Godece,

Continue to conquer the world and be the Khaleesi you were set out to be. Thank you for letting us share a chapter of your life with you. Reign with justice, compassion, strength, and wisdom. Stay awesome.

Ganda =)

Miss Gandz, it’s so great that I got to work with you as my editor and manager. You definitely deserve to be one of the leaders of the team. You’re such a fun-loving, open, and positive person. I’m sure you’ll continue to inspire others in the team to excel.Β 

Hey Hey!

Good luck sa another chapter of your life, Gods! Hope all your dreams and wishes will come true! Merry Christmas! =)

Coreine

Thanks, gwiyomi girl πŸ™‚

Gods,

So sad mawalan nami ug banggiitan na writer. But I’m happy for you to pursue your dream. If ever you need jewellery and accessories for your fashion show, I’d be happy to lend you some. (I’m reopening my jewellery business next year, you know) =) Anyway, good luck and I wish you all the best. Can’t wait to see your designs on stage.Β 

-Dara Dawn

Dar, OMG a jewellery business? That’s great! Good luck πŸ˜€ I hope to see my designs and your jewels on stage too LOL *fingers crossed

Hi Godece,

Although di kaau ta magstorya I enjoy your funny chats and outbursts sa chat room =) Hope you have a fashionably fun time after this (ST).

Jouvy *cute drawing of a gift =)

Jouv, ka cute sa drawing oie. ^_^ And as for the weird skype chats, mum’s the word.. hehe =)

Godece,

I am never good with goodbyes. So I’ll keep this short & sweet (murag ako, sweet and SHORT =) ) Thank you for the good times and the great times & the inum-till-the-sun-rises =) Wishing you all the best in whatever endeavours you’ll undertake. I’m really never good with goodbyes so I’ll say… See you later!!!

Jonathan

Jon Jon, I’ll never forget that one time we drank all night with Tre and Jer, eventually ending up having breakfast together. That was our moment LOL. And yes, you’re very sweet and not too short hehe πŸ˜€ Keep being cuddly and giggly because it’s one of the things we love about you.

Hi Ms Southern Leyte!

Perhaps this is the last day I’ll say Hi and Hello to my ultimate cwash hehehe. Anyway, see you around bitaw and take care always. Enjoy your chosen career and stay happy and smart always. God bless you and Emil.Β 

Ren2

Ren, you’re so sweet. I’m sure any girl (or guy *wink) would be lucky to have you. And no, I don’t think this will be the last time you’ll say hi to me. hehe (p.s. I’ve kinda known I was this “cwash” you gushed about before, it’s sooo cute)

The Goddess of Southern Leyte!Β 

You are blessed and so continue to bless others too with your awesomeness, kung baga, whole package, beauty, wit, intelligence, sex appeal, kind, etc. You have it all, girl! I am so glad that we’ve met and shared moments together kauban ang team. God be with you always. God has plans for your future. Keep believing!Β 

Eva

Β Ev, thanks so much for the friendship. I’ll treasure the book you gave me, I know it’s helpful now that I’m figuring my life out hehe πŸ˜€

Hi God,Β 

I admire your courage for pursuing your dreams. Not all of us gets to do that. You inspire us all with your wits and beauty. May you continue to be an inspiration to others.Β 

Best of luck, Mimi =)

Mim, it’s never too late to follow your dreams πŸ˜€ Continue to inspire others through your talents too.

Buongiorno, bella!

You were one of the first people here who I thought could really be an awesome person. And I wasn’t wrong in the least. Beauty and brains is a lethal combination. And you’re nice too. Good luck to Emil hehe! Anyhoo, god bless and have the greatest luck/fortunes in your future.Β 

Line

Line, I’ll seriously miss your Skype greetings that always used a different language, French, Italian, Niponggo, etc. I’ll also miss seeing your cute stocking+skirt/dress combinations. I wish I could pull off that kind of look hehe πŸ˜€

Godece,Β 

God speed! May you have a prosperous areer and I hope that you’ll continue to be an inspiration and blessing to others. You’re really a very special woman. In fact, you might be one of the few people Mandela refers to in this quote: “A good head and a good heart are always a formidable combination. But when you add a literate tongue or pen, you have something very special.”

Jef

Jef, I’ll have you know that when I got to your note, I cried. Seriously. I don’t deserve to be called a “special woman” but I’m super grateful that you think I am. I feel sad that we never got to be close friends but perhaps we’ll meet again in the future. Who knows? Thanks so much for these kinds words, Jeff. They mean a lot.

Hi Gods,

Good luck sa imong future endeavours. If mupadayon ka apil sa Miss Universe, Miss World, Miss International ug unsa pang pageant diha, go lang nang go hehe. Bitaw, I’ll miss our moments gushing about Kit Harrington. Ako na lang usa mag kilig2 ni Kit diri. hehe.. More power, Khaleesi!! (rock)

Alex

Lex, I’ll miss our hunks-of-GOT moments too (and other nerdy topics we chat about on Skype but sshh.. πŸ˜€ ). And no, other pageants are not part of my future hehe πŸ˜€Β Athchomar chomakaan, zhey Alex.

Godece,Β 

Honestly, I don’t know what to say. So sad that you’ll be leaving content. But happy ko because I know you are. That makes me think you’ve made the right choice. Life is a long runway, anyway. I am confident that you can strut it with confidence and a big smile on your face. Amping.

Ninz

Ninz, yes I’m happy with my decision hehe. Life is definitely a runway which, I’m sure, you’re already strutting with badassness and awesomeness.

Hi Glads,

Thank you for counting me as one of your friends. Hope your next journey in your career would be fruitful and successful.Β 

Jenny

Thanks, mommy Jen. πŸ™‚ (p.s. it’s “g-a-h” not “g-l-a-h” hehehe)

God,Β 

It was definitely a blast to work with a beauty queen like you.. at least one of us really got to wear a crown hahaha. Anyway, good luck in all your dreams.. Keep reaching for them no matter the odds.. Will still follow your blog hehe.. Bitaw, basta keep feet firmly on the ground lang jud. And believe that you really are an amazing and awesome girl! God bless.. Merry Christmas.. Have a blessed New Year!Β 

Edz =)

Edz, you don’t need the crown because you’re a Queen even without it hehehe πŸ˜€ I’m so lucky that you’re one of the people who mentored and guided me early on. The FLP team is sooo fortunate to have you as leader and motivator. Thanks so much for the friendship, Edz. I’ll miss bothering you with my Hello Kitty finds hehe..Β 

Hi Godece,Β 

Although I was not really able to open up nor share a part of my personality with you (language barrier and age gap the culprits), again, thank you for letting me feel I still can talk to you guys =) Wish you luck in whatever and wherever is in store for you. God bless. It’s unfortunate Smart Traffic and our department have to say goodbye to a prolific and worthy writer.Β 

Amping, Ra!

Ra, don’t ever feel like you can’t open up to people in the team. πŸ˜€ Know that the people there are ready to share in whatever joys or problems you’re facing. They’re your friends, don’t be shy.. hehe

Khaleesi!

It’s sad to see you go but I know that there are amazing things in store for you beyond the world of ST. Thanks a lot for your contributions to the team! I’m glad we became workmates! Wishing you all the best in your endeavours!

Arcel

Thanks, pretty girl. I’m also glad that I got to work with you for the GBPs. πŸ˜€

Gods,

Daghang salamt para sa friendship and food =) Ayo ayo! hehe

Magz

LOL Magz, you never fail to crack me up. You’re like a cute little man-child… πŸ˜€

Hi God,

hehehe (blush) I’ve never been one who’s really good with goodbyes… So I just want to tell you or congratulate you for a job well done here in ST. You’ve been an amazing writer and a wonderful learner. And now that you’re off to another adventure, may God bless you always.

Dana

Danes, I’ll always consider myself lucky that I got to work with you on a project that I really enjoyed. It was a challenge that you’ve helped me with and I’m so grateful. πŸ˜€

To the Beauty from Leyte (a.k.a Mother of Dragons),

It was an opportunity and pleasure to have worked with someone warmhearted, sophisticated and talented. I believe the world will hear of you someday. Remain frank and fearless! I’m looking forward to the fashion revolution you’ll be launching, say five years from now? =)

Muffins

Muff, take care of my baby, won’t you? hehe πŸ˜€ I’m also lucky that I got to work with such a talented writer and positive person like you.Β 

Gods,Β 

My groupmate and lockermate forever. You are the epitome of beauty, brain, and talent. You are bless with so much yet you stay humble and funny. I will miss everything about you- the chats, the bullying, and the tagays- but I’m happy for whatever plans you have. Never change your personality because it’s what makes you unique and precious. Merry Christmas, Gods!

Always,Β Dora =)

Dora Lou Jane, hehe thanks lockermate/groupmate. I’ll miss the tagay moments too, esp. your lessons about castration *wink (p.s. suya ko sa imo sinuwatan πŸ˜› )

Dear Godece,Β 

Vavavoom! Did you know that you’re the one who introduced the word to my vocabulary? Vavavoom, indeed, 2 think the word girly describes the fabulous you! Beauty + smart + creativity + passion.. I think you’re a rare combination =) I hope you’ll remember these whenever you find it hard to believe in yourself. I don’t have a parting gift to give, but I want you to always remember this (let me quote:) “You make all the fashion statements just by dressing up your mind.”Β 

Berd

Miss Berd, thanks so much for these kind words πŸ˜€ As always, CAN I HAVE YOUR LEGS? LOL πŸ˜€

Godece,Β 

So sad that you are parting ways with the team.. I won’t be seeing “God” writing anymore… LOL Anyway, good luck nalang sa imong future endeavours.

Thon

Thanks, Thon. I’ll really miss your jokes and heavy stomps hehe πŸ˜€

Godece,Β 

Wa ko ga expect ni resign pod ka.. hehe. Pero I’m sure your purpose is for the best. I hope you make the most of your last moments in ST. You know, we just have to learn to let go.. Char! Continue chasing your dreams. God bless!Β 

-Ching =)

Chinggul, wala sad ko gadahom na ni-resign diay ka LOL Stay beautiful and energetic, Chinggay. πŸ˜€

Hello Godece,Β 

When I first got here I actually thought you were Italian and said your name wrong. hehe.. Anyway, good luck to you and your future plans. I guess that’s pretty much it LOL

Β Bon

Bon, LOL Italian? haha *flattered

Hi Miss Gods!

You are truly a goddess! =) You are one of the prettiest people in ST. I know nga dili ra kaayo ta magka-interact but I can see that you’re a lovely person, inside and out. Wherever you may go, I wish all the good things in life will follow. God bless, Miss. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.Β 

Love lots, Meryl

Meryl, grabe na ego boost oie, as in ^_^ Thanks. Too bad we didn’t have time to be close friends in ST, but I’m sure you’ll enjoy working with the team and gaining new friends. πŸ˜€

Gods,Β 

It’s amazing how we found new friends here in ST. But it’s more amazing that I met you from the very start of the journey =) I will always treasure our friendship with Ken. Aim high and you know I’ll just be here for a good talk.Β 

Ela

Thanks, mommy Elle! You know I’ve always admired your strength and courage as a mother and woman. Keep believing in God and family. Love lots. πŸ˜€

Dear Gods,Β 

Sad kaau ko nga muhawa na ka.. Nakalitan sad ku kay I thought dugay pa ta magkakuyug diri sa content. But still happy gihapun ku for you kay I know you’ll be closer to making your dreams come true and achieving your goals.. =) Take care always! Labyu ❀

-<3Β Julie

Jul, you’re one of the people I’ll really miss. You’re very sweet and cute and you’ve helped me a LOT with getting used to CDLs. Stay awesome, Juls. The team is sooo lucky that they have you as one of the seniors to look up to πŸ˜€ mwaaah!

So what happens now?

I still have a lot of stuff to figure out. But I know that resigning from Smart Traffic was the right decision. I’ll miss my ST family and I’m sure I’ll see the company rise to better heights soon! πŸ˜€

st-outing-122

Leave a Reply

