the climb game of thrones

The Climb – Game of Thrones Season 3 Episode 6

For some reason, Miley Cyrus’ song keeps ringing in my ears each time I read the title. But this episode is far from a cheesy who-am-I kind of situation. It’s the sort of “climb” that steps over corpses, tramples over honorable men, that disgraces sweet little girls, that murders chess pieces at a whim.

Let’s do this one setting at a time 😀

North of the Wall

Samwell Tarly and Gilly are still playing mummy-and-daddy amidst the freezing cold. Meanwhile, Tormund Gianstbane and his band of Wildlings are gearing up to climb the Wall. Let me tell you, I couldn’t last 20 minutes trying to scale a 20-foot wall at Metrosports Complex. They’re trying to scale a 700-foot wall of ice? Good luck.

the climb game of thrones

Undisclosed Location

I already know where Theon’s torture chamber is, but I’ll leave that to the book readers to know. For now, I’m hating this scenes. In the books, it was cleverly implied  that Theon went through a horrible physical, emotional, and psychological torture, resulted in him being completely docile and pathetic.

In this episode, we’re reminded why House Bolton’s banner is a flayed man and their words “Our knives are sharp.”

Riverrun

The Freys, Starks, and Tulleys are under negotiations regarding Lord Frey’s allegiance to the King in the North. Edmure will wed one of Frey’s daughters in exchange for his loyalty to the Young Wolf’s cause.

Harrenhal

Jaime is failing at slicing his rare steak. It would be hilarious enough if not for the fact that Brienne is wearing a dress and Roose Bolton is having a meal with them.

During this short scene, crucial chess pieces are moved strategically to conquer the war. In a few more episodes, it’ll be clear what exactly Roose Bolton decides and what his motivations are. If it were me, I’d probably betray Robb too if I were seeing him fail at every decision he makes.

Kings Landing

Woohoo! The scene I’ve been waiting for has come and it was spectacular. Charles Dance performing against Diana Rigg is a wonderful execution of verbal acting and body language. Lady Olenna Tyrell and Lord Tywin Lannister, two formidable leaders of the most powerful Houses in Westeros, battling it off to decide who marries who.

the climb game of thrones

Here, it’s almost implied that it’s a different arena in High Garden, where homosexuality isn’t as deviant as other Westerosis consider it. Obviously, far from the “rumored” incestuous acts of the Lannister twin blondes.

Other musings:

  • Skinning rabbits 😦 It’s a good thing my pet rabbits have gone to heaven. I wouldn’t have been to stomach that scene… sheeesh…
  • We hear more High Valyrian from Melisandre and Thoros of Myr. This is interesting, they apparently have history or a shared purpose. I hope they’’ll present a backstory in the coming seasons.
  • Arya and Melisandre – the former can clearly win against a staring contest. Or a bitch fight, for that matter LOL
  • I loved the final scene between Petyr Baelish and Varys. These two are definitely HUGE players in the game, with the former gaining a fast lead by being a, shall we say, double agent. Also, Joffrey’s little hobby? It’s far more disgusting than Adrian Powell’s dirty little hobby on #DeviousMaids.
  • Goodbye, Ros the whore. #neverforget

the climb game of thrones

  • It’s weird that The Wall can be chipped that easily. If it were summer, then okay maybe. But winter is coming and that wall of ice is supposed to grow harder, freeze stronger. A big gaping hole in their plot, I’m afraid. 😛

Memorable Lines:

“I didn’t kill him, but I bet his balls are still blue.” –Ygritte LOL

“It’s a rare enough thing for a man who to live up to his reputation.” –Lady Olenna Tyrell

“If you think this has a happy ending, you haven’t been paying attention.” –Ramsay Snow *oops, spoiler!

“If you fall, don’t scream.” Tormund LOL

“The laws of my fist are about to compel your teeth.” –Blackfish LOL

“I’ve won every battle, but I’m losing this war.” –Robb Stark

“I’m your woman now, Jon Snow. You’re going to be loyal to your woman… Don’t ever betray me.” –Ygritte

“Jaime or not, I’m… truly fucked.” –Tyrion Lannister

“Chaos isn’t a pit. Chaos is a ladder.” -Petyr Baelish

 

Leave a Reply

